Sharing the good, the bad, and the stuff that makes you go "Hmm.."


I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to put this year behind me and move forward with a new focus and new goals. I’m looking forward to watching New Year’s Rockin’ Eve (not quite the same without Dick Clark hosting it), watching the ball drop and bidding a fond farewell to 2011. I do wish, though, that I could rewind back to January 1st so I would get another chance to do some things differently.

My time would’ve have been better spent. I would’ve procrastinated less and been more organized. I would’ve worked smarter, not harder.

I wouldn’t wasted my time on low-paying writing gigs. That time would’ve been spent setting up my website, keeping my blog current and marketing myself to prospective clients who pay professional writing rates. I would’ve lined up a part-time job outside the house to pay the bills, allowing me to be more selective when pursuing writing projects.

My private clients would have been required to sign a contract before I did any work, and I would have insisted on upfront payment of at least half the agreed amount. It wouldn’t have mattered if you were a friend or relative. I’ve recently learned this lesson the hard way, and let’s just leave it at that. I’m not ruining my holiday cheer by dwelling on foul people and bullshit.

Fear of failure and lack of confidence wouldn’t have gotten the better of me. I talked myself out of pursuing several opportunities because I didn’t have a four-year degree or wasn’t an “expert” in a certain field. A fellow writer once said that if you gave her 24 hours (to research), she would be an expert. Well, I certainly can research. I hate it, but it’s something I’m good at. And I can always consult with some real “experts” and quote them (with their permission).

Here’s to being fearless in 2012.

In 2012, I will most likely be working part-time (preferably) or full-time outside the home unless I find a nice work-at-home job or a few lucrative writing gigs that don’t require me to crank out 30 articles a week. I need a steady, reliable income so I can pursue my writing dreams and still be able to sleep at night knowing my living expenses are taken care of. I’m actually looking forward to getting out of the house on a daily basis. You know you’ve got a bad case of cabin fever when you bundle up on a cold, snowy day to walk down to the corner store just to get outside for a while.

I want to learn this whole social networking thing and how it can help me get clients. I’m on Facebook, Linkedin, Twitter and Google+.  I don’t know why I even bothered with Google+ since I’m on the other three sites. I’m still trying to decide if I even like Linkedin. I’m not on Twitter that much, and most of my time on Facebook is spent playing games. I need to better utilize my time on these sites.

I want to write press releases and web pages–for the right price, of course. And I still want to break into copywriting. I’d love to work on an eBook.

On a personal note, I’m going to FINALLY get rid of all of this damn clutter in my apartment before I torch it all!

What will YOU do differently in 2012?

Comments on: "What I Will Do Differently in 2012" (3)

  1. I’m still trying to figure out Google+ as well. I use ping.fm which allows me to share with all my social networks sites so I was able to spend less time dealing with all of that this year. My biggest problem is time management. School took up a huge chunk of my time this year and what little time I did have I felt I spent too much time looking for the right client instead of working for those that were right in front of me. I plan to keep better track of myself next year.

    • Ping.fm? I’ll have to check that out. My concern with social networking sites is that I’ll spend more time “networking” than working. I want to have a life away from the Internet, kwim?

  2. I should check out that one too! Thanks! I am also one stumbleupon so I know I need to get it all done and figure out what works best for me.

Leave a comment