Sharing the good, the bad, and the stuff that makes you go "Hmm.."


My writing life, except for a weekly post that pays enough to pay for my medicines, seems to have come to a standstill. I’m no longer at a fork in the road, I’m at a damn roadblock. These days I semi-exist on ramen noodle lunches and work part-time as answering service operator–a job I wouldn’t wish on my worse enemy. I also search tirelessly for writing opportunities. My search leaves me frustrated, depressed and wondering if I’m going about it all wrong.

I’m signed up with Demand Studios, but they created topic sections and required every writer to reapply to write the same freaking type of articles they wrote for months.  My application was rejected, and there are never any titles when I log in these days. I could earn a nice chunk of change writing Textbroker articles if I could crank out 3-4 articles per hour. I can, but the writing would suck. I updated my profile at Writer Access and am waiting to see if passes muster. Hopefully it will.

I realize I need to be more proactive and start pursuing writing opportunities I’ve yet to tackle. I need to ignore my inner voice that keeps telling me I don’t have the education or experience for to write this ebook, white paper, press release or other type of writing project. Lord knows that as a secretary I did many administrative projects which required learning a new skill or discipline. Why should my approach to writing to be any different?

I want to write press releases. I would LOVE to edit someone’s ebook. I think writing white papers would be a good niche for me. Heck, I’d even take on writing an ebook–maybe my own once I figure out what I would like to share with the world. I need to just go for the  jobs I want, instead of hoping they pop up on job boards. Maybe I should re-enter the world of fiction writing, an aspiration I had years ago before life got in the way.

And I need to stop treating my blog like that friend you only see once every few months. I almost forgot I had one.  Yep, I’ve been that much out of my groove. Time to slowly back into it, one word at a time.

 

Comments on: "Living My Life Like a Writer? Sort of…" (7)

  1. Life always gets in the way. I finally started writing earlier this year, and I should have done it 20 years ago. Just decide you’re going to do it, and just do it. You know you can.

  2. i blog sporadically as well but the scheduling feature is definitely my favorite option!

  3. Schedule your writing. Whether its a 15 minute block or a few hours. Schedule it in your planner like you do any job. Believe me, it really helps! Glad to see you blogging again.

    • Thanks Chrystal. Are you still doing that internet marketing thingy? I haven’t forgotten, it’s just that my funds aren’t quite right yet.

  4. Have you tried bidding sites such as Odesk, Elance and Guru? I have found most of my clients this way. You will have to wade through the low paying ones to get to the good ones but once you find them, it will be so worth it.

    Get back on that writing horse and do it! Start writing for sites like Examiner and Hubpages as well as posting in your blog as often as you can. Do this on the side of upfront paying opportunities and you will earn a decent amount in the long run. 6 months to a year from now you will be glad you did. I have started writing rev share again and make myself write for Examiner, Hubpages and my blog every day so I can start earning a decent amount from them later on down the road.

    Good luck and you can do it!

    • Thanks for the tips. I’m signed with all three, but I admit I get frustrated wading through all of the low-paying stuff and give up too quickly. That’s a habit I’ll have to break.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

